Narrative

I remember when I was  9 years old, my whole family went to Palm Springs, California for the Summer. It was so hot you could feel the humidity as you stepped outside. I went to India before that and it feels like Calgary weather compared to Palm Springs, it was crazy.

With this crazy weather, we were pretty conflicted about what to do once we settled down in the hotel. My sisters and mother wanted to go shopping, while my brother and I wanted to do anything but that. We decided on settling down and relaxing for the day and then we would go to a water park the next day. This was a great idea and the whole family loved it, except my dad; he can’t swim. I always try to get him to come with me on the shallow water but he refuses to. But still, a water park would be very fun and I was excited for tomorrow.

When tomorrow came and we arrived at the water park, it was huge. There were streams that you can relaxingly glide down without any worries. There were multiple water slides that were massive and had you land straight into a pool. There was everything you would expect from a water park and more. My whole family jumped into the water and had tons of fun. My dad was, however, laying in a hammock drinking the whole time. So naturally, after a while, he got pretty tipsy.  I was about to go to the huge water slide with my brother, but I figured I might as well give it a shot and ask my dad if he wanted to come before we went. To mine and my brother’s surprise, he said yes, I feel like the alcohol was mainly responsible for that decision. But my nine-year-old self was too excited to care.

Once my father, my brother, and I reached the front of the line I went down first. What a thrill! My stomach dropped immediately as I rushed down with the water underneath me aiding in my speed. Once I reached the end I got launched into this pool that I could easily stand on and swam out. I looked up and it was my brothers turn to go next. He went down and he enjoyed it just as much as I did. Now it’s time for the fun part: my dad’s turn. He stumbled down the slide and kept flailing his body so much that he almost fell off the slide, then he landed into the pool and kept jumping up and down to stay out of the water until he reached the edge. It was so funny. When he got up and came to my bro and me, my mom came too and started screaming at my dad for being “so stupid.” That was by far my favorite part of the trip. There’s no deep meaning or hidden message behind this, it’s just a funny story that I remembered which made me bust out laughing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *